Vogt Awards

The Community Foundation of Louisville’s Vogt Invention & Innovation Awards offers entrepreneurs in the Louisville region a unique and exciting opportunity to take their businesses to the next level. Each year, up to six early-stage businesses receive $25,000 in non-dilutive grant funding, participation in a 10-week startup accelerator program, coaching, mentorship, strategic introductions, and recognition, all designed to boost the growth of their business. Unlike other business accelerator programs, the Vogt Awards allows founders to retain full ownership of their businesses.

The 23rd Vogt Invention and Innovation Awards application is closed.

Stay tuned for an announcement about this year’s 2023 cohort selection in August 2023.

The 2022 Vogt Awards Cohort

2022 Vogt Award Recipients

Pictured left to right: Waleed Bahouth, Erik Anderson, Jennifer Mason, Lecresha Sewell, TaMeka Bland, Roland Achenjang, Akhil Suresh Nair; Not pictured: Chris Mason | Photo credit: Jolea Brown, Creative Photography LLC

The Community Foundation of Louisville announced the recipients of our 22nd annual Vogt Invention and Innovation Awards in August 2022. These six, early-stage industry disruptors received $25,000 in non-dilutive grant funding, participation in a 10-week accelerator program, startup coaching, mentorship, strategic introductions, and recognition, all designed to boost their growth and take their tech-enabled businesses to the next level. Last year’s recipients represented the program’s first majority minority cohort — 83% were minority/founders of color and 50% were women-founded.

Learn more about our Vogt Award recipients.

Thank you 2022 Vogt Awards Selection Committee!

2022 Vogt Award Selection Committee

Back row pictured left to right: Christian Miller; Demetrius Gray; Alice Shade; Brett Moreno; Steven Plappert; Jake Miller; Mario Mazzone; Buddy Bockweg; and Telepriore “Greg” Tucker Ph.D. Front row pictured left to right: Phoebe Wood; Greg Langdon; Tendai Charasika; (Chair) Monique Quarterman; Angelique Johnson Ph.D.; and (Program Director) Lisa Bajorinas | Photo credit: Community Foundation of Louisville

Congratulations to the 22nd annual Vogt Award recipients! These six early-stage businesses were chosen by a selection committee made up of leading entrepreneurs and investors in the startup community, and past Vogt Award recipients. This innovative, passionate group of trailblazers are experts in their fields and have firsthand experience in what it takes to build a company from the ground up. The committee was led by Chair Monique Quarterman, one of Kentucky’s most recognized leaders in innovation. Monique serves as Executive Director for Kentucky Innovation at the Kentucky Cabinet for Economic Development

The competition was tough this year, and narrowing the field to six businesses was an enormous challenge. We want to thank each committee member for their leadership, guidance, and thoughtful consideration throughout the selection process. 

The Tremendous Legacy behind the Vogt Awards

The Vogt Invention & Innovation Fund and Awards were established in 1999 through an endowment generously created by Henry V. Heuser Sr. This long-standing and prestigious program aims to strengthen Louisville’s economic health by supporting innovative businesses and inspiring entrepreneurship.

It’s an incredible story of generosity supporting a long-term vision that benefits economic development in our community.

Learn more about the legacy behind the Vogt Awards.

We're here to answer your questions!

Lisa Bajorinas
Lisa Bajorinas
Vogt Awards Program Director
(502) 836-0735
[javascript protected email address]
Gad Niyiragira
Gad Niyiragira
Gad Niyiragira
Program Officer, Community Engagement
[javascript protected email address]